Akaka for APA Secretary 2019

Biosketch

- 1. APA Speaker of the Assembly of District Branches 2007-2008
- 2. APA Board of Trustees 2006-2008, 2012-2018
- 3. APA Distinguished Service Award 2018
- 4. Association of Gay and Lesbian Psychiatrists 2011 Distinguished Service Award
- 5. Hawaii Medical Association Physician of the Year 2016
- 6. Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, University of Hawaii John A Burns School of Medicine
- 7. Delegate, APA AMA Delegation 2004-present
- 8. Assembly Committee of Minority and Underrepresented Groups 1993-2003 (Chair 1999-2000, 2001-2002)
- 9. Assembly Committee on Public and Community Psychiatry 1995-1999
- 10. APAPAC Board of Directors 2002-present
- 11. President, Hawaii Psychiatric Medical Association 2010-2012
- 12. Medical Director, Diamond Head Community Mental Health Center 2003-2016.
- 13. President's Committee on Mental Retardation (appointment by President Bill Clinton)
- 14. Hawaii Medical Advisory Board (appointment by Governors John Waihe'e and Ben Cayetano)
- 15. OAMI/NAMI Oahu Board of Directors 1996-2007
- 16. 5 Time Ironman Triathlete