37th Indo-American Psychiatric Association (IAPA) Scientific Program

Date: Sunday May 15th 2016

Venue: Sheraton Atlanta, 165 Courtland St NE, Atlanta GA 30303 Level 1 Georgia Rooms 7-9

Poster Presentation: 11:30 AM – 1 PM Scientific Program: 1.00 - 4.15 PM

1.00 - 1.10 PM: Welcome and Introduction: Ashwin Patkar, M.D., President, IAPA

1.10 – 1.40 PM: Outstanding Academician Lecture: "Biomarkers of antipsychotic drug response: From the genome to the connectome" Anil Malhotra M.D. Professor of Psychiatry & Molecular Medicine, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine, NY.

1.40 - 3.20 PM Scientific Program Theme: "Cultural Aspects of Mental Health Treatment"

1:40 - 1.50 PM: "Overview: Culture, Values and the Mental Health Problems of Asian Indians in the U.S." Rohit Chandra, M.D.

1.50 - 2.10 PM "Working With Indian Children, Adolescents and Families: Cross-Cultural Considerations." Meena Ramani, M.D., Secretary, IAPA

2:10 - 2:20 Break

2.20 – 2.40 PM: "Treatments for Mental Health Problems: Yoga, Mindfulness and Meditation." Basant Pradhan, M.D.

2:40 - 3.00 PM "Mental Health Insights from Ancient Indian Texts." T.G. Sriram, M.D.

3.00 - 3.30 PM Panel Discussion: Indian Psychiatric Society President, Dr. G. Prasad Rao (serious mental illness; addictions; Indian perspective); Dr. Sriram (wisdom), Dr. Chandra (values), Dr. Tanuja Gandhi (stigma)

3:30 -3.40 PM: Break

3.40 – 4.10 pm Residents Presentation: Moderator: Vani Rao, M.D. Past President IAPA

4.10 -4.15 pm Wrap-Up and Future Directions: Dr. Dilipkumar Patel; President-Elect, IAPA

Business Meeting and Banquet

Date: Sunday May 15th, 2016

Time: 6:30 pm to 11:00pm

Venue: Sheraton Atlanta, 165 Courtland St NE, Atlanta GA 30303 Level 1 Georgia Rooms 7-12.

6.30 –7.30: Registration & Cocktails

7.30 – 7.35: Welcome by Georgia Chapter President

7.35 – 7:45: Presidential address, Ashwin Patkar, MD

7:45-8.00: Awards Ceremony

8.00 – 8.05: Vote of Thanks, Dilipkumar Patel, MD

8.05 - 9.45 Dinner

9.45 -11 Socializing, Dance & Music

REGISTRATION:

ONLINE PRE-REGISTRATION: \$30.00 for members & \$40.00 for non-members

ONSITE (Cash only): \$40.00 for members & \$50.00 for non-members

Last Date for Online registration: May 7th 2016

Participants:

Ashwin Patkar, M.D. Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; Professor in Community and Family Medicine, Duke University School of Medicine (Durham, NC); Medical Director, Duke Addictions Program and Substance Abuse Consultation Services

Dilipkumar Patel, M.D. Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Morehouse School of Medicine (Atlanta, GA); Consultant and Part-Time Correctional Psychiatrist, MHM Services-Georgia; Consultant Psychiatrist, DeKalb County Drug Court

Anil Malhotra, M.D. Professor of Molecular Medicine Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine; Chief, Division of Psychiatry- Research, The Zucker-Hillside Hospital and Long Island Jewish Medical Center (Forest Hills, NY)

Vani Rao, M.D. Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, MD); Director of the Brain Injury Program and Behavioral Neurology and Neuropsychiatry Fellowship Director, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Meena Ramani, M.D. Director of Child Psychiatry and Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship Director, Nassau University Medical Center (East Meadow, NY)

Basant Pradhan, M.D. Assistant Professor of Psychiatry (Child and Adult), Cooper University Hospital and Cooper Medical School of Rowan University (Camden, NJ); Associate Program Director of Psychiatry Residency Training, Cooper University Hospital G. Prasad Rao, M.D. Indian Psychiatric Society; Managing Director, ASHA Hospital (Hyderabad, India); Organizing Secretary, 67th ANCIPS Conference (January 2015)

T.G. Sriram, M.D. Staff Psychiatrist, Central State Hospital (Petersburg, VA).

Rohit Chandra, M.D. Instructor in Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School. Assistant in Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital (Boston, MA)

Tanuja Gandhi, M.D. PGY-4 Psychiatry Resident, Albert Einstein Medical Center (Philadelphia, PA)

2016 IAPA Scientific Program Committee:

Ashwin Patkar, M.D., Rohit Chandra M.D, Neeral Sheth, D.O. (Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL), Tanuja Gandhi, M.D.